Bike Outliner Releases
-
Bike 1.22.2 (196)
- Improved new window sizing and positioning
- Removed ugly white line that could show under navigation bar
-
Bike 1.22.1 (195)
- Fixed crash on Tahoe when showing path explorer
-
Bike 1.22 (194)
- Changed how file attributes are written
- Changed open to create an untitled doc, not show open panel
- Changed default to no
xmlnsin Bike documents (kept if found) - Removed auto-naming feature for new documents
- Fixed issues when importing HTML/RTF lists
- Fixed a crash case by showing an alert instead
- Fixed undoing a drag sometimes showing an alert
- Fixed
Outline > Move to Headingreversing moved row order
-
Bike 1.21 (189)
This is a re-release of Bike 1.21 that fixes a code signing error. Version 1.21 on Setapp and the Mac App Store didn’t have the error, so I have not updated those versions.
- Added alert when software update will require license renewal
- Fixed caret movement’s interaction with caret affinity
-
Bike 1.20 (187)
- Removed unused code
- Updated requirements to macOS 12
-
Bike 1.19 (186)
All changes but the license fix are in the “Focus Heading” window. Use relative outline paths there to limit choices to the focused outline.
- Added ⌘↑ to move to first item
- Added ⌘↓ to move to last item
- Added setting to remove “Home” item
- Added support for relative outline paths
- Changed ↑ to wrap to last item
- Changed ↓ to wrap to first item
- Fixed license verification logic
-
Bike 1.18.5 (183)
- Added purchase/renew on website options
- Fixed quote marker alignment
-
Bike 1.18.4 (181)
- Added “Print Background” option
- Improved ordered list number alignment
-
Bike 1.18.3 (178)
- Fixed crash when using Pinyin text input
-
Bike 1.18.2 (177)
- Improved error message when license fails
- Fixed “License Required” spelling
- Fixed iCloud folder icon. I think!
- Fixed case where text caret would stop showing in editor
- Fixed text encoding problems when pasting HTML fragments
For script authors: Shortcuts action changes.
- Added Markdown to Edit Rows action
- Changed Create Row action Plain parameter to Text
- Fixed Open Outline action to make outline frontmost
- Fixed Create Row shortcut to have default text value
-
Bike 1.18.1 (173)
- Added Bike specific iCloud drive folder
- Fixed pasting Hookmark links into Bike
-
Bike 1.18 (168)
- Added auto-naming of “Untitled” documents from first sentence
- Added Settings > Sandbox to allow opening file links
- Changed link editor view to not allow text with newlines
- Changed Choice Palette to turn off Unicode normalization
- Fixed crash on macOS 11 when using M1 processor
- Fixed reading of row’s rich text in Shortcut actions
- Fixed clipping in Finder previews of Bike files
- Fixed drag and drop indicator getting stuck
-
Bike 1.17.2 (165)
- Fixed crash on macOS 11
-
Bike 1.17.1 (164)
- Fixed license renewal
- Fixed outline path background drawing
-
Bike 1.17 (163)
Outline paths are an important foundation technology. Today they are used in AppleScripts and Shortcuts actions. In future Bike releases outline paths will become more important as they are used in stylesheets and outline filtering.
- Added outline search paths
- Added Window > Outline Path Explorer
- Added “Query Outline” action for Shortcuts
- Added “query” command to AppleScript dictionary
- Changed icon to be more centered and less yellow
- Changed Transpose (⌘T) to select the pair
- Fixed to truncate long alert messages
-
Bike 1.16 (158)
The new restore focus/expand state is secondary to the standard system restore state. If you have not closed a document then the system restore state will be used.
- Added Outline > Sort Rows
- Added Outline > Move to Heading
- Added “Sort Rows” to context menu
- Added restore focus/expand state for closed documents
-
Bike 1.15.1 (155)
- Fixed “Delete Rows” Shortcuts action crash on macOS 14
-
Bike 1.15 (154)
- Added ⇧Return to insert row above
- Added Outline > Expand/Collapse All by Level
- Added “Links” setting panel to control row link behavior
- Added support for ⌃N and ⌃P in choice palette
- Changed to Xcode 15 and Swift 5.9 build process
- Changed “Add Link to Row” to insert linked text if no selection
- Changed caret affinity to downstream after pasting
- Fixed case where hiding window could also collapse rows
- Fixed crash when ⌘-clicking arrow to focus in
- Fixed marked text not discarded on mouse down
-
Bike 1.14 (152)
Bike’s new “Focus Heading” feature enables quick navigation using only the keyboard.
- Added Go > Focus Heading… (⌘P)
- Added Format > Add Link to Row… (⌥⌘K)
- Added new row type shortcut
[ ](with space) for tasks - Added option to accept corrections, removing blue indicator
- Added
levelproperty to rows in Shortcuts automations - Added
xmlnstohtmlelement in.bikefiles - Changed autocorrect to be disabled in code blocks and spans
- Changed Format > Add Link to use ⌘K shortcut
- Changed Go > Open Link to use ⇧⌘O shortcut
- Changed Format > Edit Formatting to use ⌘E shortcut
- Changed focus out button to be less distracting
- Removed automatic crash reports
- Fixed paste URL over text to work in applicable cases
- Fixed “Use Selection for Find” to also show find panel
- Fixed empty
.txtfiles to open as plain text, not Bike format - Fixed formatting key shortcuts with Boshiamy text input
- Fixed typing with Boshiamy text input (some problems remain)
-
Bike 1.13 (145)
Bike adds row types!
Use row types to add another level of structure and meaning to your outlines. You can now include heading rows, task list rows, ordered list rows, and more.
The easiest way to use row types is through Bike’s new “smart row types” feature. In a new row, type one of the following markdown inspired shortcuts–followed by a space:
#Heading >Blockquote ``` Code Block :Note [],-[]Task List [x],-[x]Task List (completed) 1.Ordered List -,*,+Unordered List ---Horizontal Rule The shortcut text is replaced and the row type is set. Row types are supported in both
.bikeand.opmloutlines. Learn more about row types in Bike’s user guide.- Added row types
- Added Format > Row > Types
- Added current row type to status bar
- Added row type options to formatting palette
- Added scripting support for row types
- Added Shortcuts automation support for row types
- Added text statistics for selected text
- Added Spelling and substitution options to Edit menu
- Added “Use smart links” autocorrect option
- Changed autocorrect options to a new settings panel
- Changed checking and autocorrect options to be global
- Changed checking options to live in text checking panel
- Changed menus, removing “Row” and adding “Go”
- Changed selection drawing to only highlight text
- Improved focus buttons spacing
- Increased focus out button visibility
- Fixed crash when pasting rtf text with CMYK colors
- Fixed crash when selecting within font ligature
- Fixed opening Mail.app message links
- Fixed invalid stylesheet caches
-
Bike 1.12 (135)
Bike adds a navigation bar with breadcrumbs and back/forward history. It also adds inline navigation controls, so you can zoom around your outline using only your mouse.
It’s been a year since Bike 1.0. Thanks for your support! Bike’s made a lot of good progress this year. I hope you’ll consider renewing your license to support another year of development.
Thanks,
Jesse Grosjean- Added Navigation bar
- Added Outline > Go Home menu
- Added Outline > Go Back menu
- Added Outline > Go Forward menu
- Added Focus In arrow to parent rows
- Added Focus Out arrow to focused row
- Added Hide guide lines setting
- Added Hide focus arrows setting
- Added license renewal process
- Added setting to hide secondary controls when typing
- Added print setting to hide secondary controls when printing
- Added additional text wrap widths of 90 and 120 chars
- Added Shortcut option to not return rows for Edit/Move/Import
- Added Index property to Shortcut rows
- Changed order and focus of fields in link edit popover
- Changed handles to be dark only with collapsed children
- Changed default background to a tint that emphasizes status bars
- Removed mouse over button highlights
- Removed focus status from window titlebar
- Fixed drag and drop of files into outline to create links
- Fixed Shortcut open action
-
Bike 1.11.1 (128)
- Fixed crash that could occur when printing
- Fixed permissions issues when saving documents
For script authors: Shortcuts action changes, two of them breaking.
- Changed Open Outline to use system open
- Removed Row’s outline property (breaking change)
- Replaced Outline’s rootId property with root (breaking change)
- Improved performance when returning many rows
- Fixed Open Row from crashing when passed root row
-
Bike 1.11 (126)
Bike now includes actions to use with Apple’s Shortcuts app. Use these actions to automate Bike and integrate with other apps.
- Fixed licensing code to disable features
- Fixed problems with text statistics popover display
- Fixed typewriter mode to work when text wraps to window
- Fixed text editing crash related to word boundaries
- Fixed previews and thumbnail generation performance
For script authors: these are the new Shortcuts actions.
- Added Fold Rows action
- Added Focus Row action
- Added Get Selection action
- Added Get Rows action
- Added Edit Rows action
- Added Import Rows action
- Added Export Rows action
- Added Find Rows action
- Added Open Row action
- Added Create Outline action
- Added Open Outline action
- Added Create Row action
- Added Delete Rows action
- Added Move Rows action
-
Bike 1.10.1 (119)
- Fixed printing bug where rows would print collapsed
-
Bike 1.10 (118)
Bike now supports printing! It also adds quicklook previews and icon thumbnails for
.bikefiles in the Finder.- Added printing support
- Added icon thumbnails in Finder
- Added Quicklook previews in Finder
- Added Edit > Copy > Copy Displayed
- Added “New Document” to Dock menu
- Added preference to disable font scaling
- Added support for capture groups in find/replace
- Added extra top margin in typewriter mode
- Improved text count performance in large outlines
- Fixed accidental text editing in outline mode
- Fixed find count display when doing find/replace
- Fixed animation when entering typewriter mode
- Fixed animation flashing when inserting new rows
-
Bike 1.9 (112)
Bike now supports distraction-free outlining with the addition of full screen mode, typewriter mode, and focus mode. See how it works in this post + movie.
- Added View > Typewriter Mode
- Added View > Focus Mode
- Added View > Text Wrap
- Added View > Status Bar
- Added View > Text Statistics
- Added Window > Duplicate Tab to open new view
- Added Settings > General opt-in error reporting
- Added font size adjust when text wrap & window width
- Added 50% padding to editor bottom
- Added ⌥Return in checking to replace and restore selection
- Changed to visible menu bar
- Changed block selection color to be dimmer
- Changed formatting to only apply to visible text
- Changed transforms to only apply to visible text
- Changed File > New Tab (⌥⌘N) to make new document
- Changed to additive animation system (smoother animations)
- Changed text checking options to a popover in checking panel
- Changed window titles to disambiguate the same document
- Fixed keyboard focus and text caret visibility inconsistencies
- Fixed scroll up speed not matching scroll down speed
- Fixed checking panel Replace advancing too far
- Fixed crash while editing same outline in two windows
- Fixed strikethrough vertical alignment
-
Bike 1.8.3 (105)
- Fixed crash when performing some autocorrections
-
Bike 1.8.2 (102)
Changed Bike link format.
Links now look like
bike://<rootID>/<focusID>#<selectID>. Focus and select are optional parts. The Copy Link command includes focus and selection. Links support an optional target=(tab|window) query parameter.- Added script access to Bike’s edit mode
- Added explanation label to “Show Checking…” menu item
- Added support for reading Hookmark links from pasteboard
- Changed blue replacement underline to show only when active
- Fixed crash for some user text replacement combinations
- Fixed read/write of OPML files to keep row attributes
- Fixed crash when editing same outline in multiple windows
- Fixed crash when selecting unnormalized text with Katakana input
- Fixed performance when outdenting a folded row in text mode
- Fixed crash moving between strings with different Unicode normalizations
-
Bike 1.8.1 (98)
There was a version number snafu with the Mac App Store, and so this release needs to be called 1.8.1 instead of 1.7.1. Even though this is 1.8.1, it’s just a bug fix beyond 1.7. Phew!
- Fixed Korean text input
- Fixed copied .rtf to include highlights
- Fixed Enter in text checking panel to always advance to next error
-
Bike 1.7 (96)
Text checking is the big focus of this release.
For an overview and some demos please see: Bike: Improved macOS text checking.
- Added Delete to undo the previous autocorrect
- Added setting to “Use delete to revert autocorrect”
- Added setting for expand level when opening a document
- Added setting to close documents when quitting
- Added new text checking panel options and descriptions
- Added caret bounce when about to show the correction popup
- Added ⌃Delete to decompose characters
- Added support for strikethrough when copy/paste .rtf
- Added ⌃T to transpose characters
- Added yank: and yankAndSelect: and kill buffer support
- Added setMark:, deleteToMark:, selectToMark:, swapWithMark:
- Added key modifiers for opening links in tabs and windows
- Changed autocorrect to apply consistently as you type
- Changed correction popup to show consistently at end of word
- Changed correction marks and spelling errors to show consistently
- Changed undo autocorrect to not undo text that you typed
- Changed text checking to be disabled in code formatted text
- Changed text checking panel to show all options for easy access
- Changed checking panel to find spelling, smart quotes, capitalization
- Changed text checking panel to work without the mouse
- Changed .rtf encoding to use tab indentation instead of lists
- Fixed drawing to stop clipping diacritics
- Fixed crash when inserting combining characters
- Fixed backspace to match system delete/decompose behavior
- Fixed .rtf decoding to better support diacritical characters
- Fixed view update when learning and ignoring spelling errors
- Fixed animations used when splitting and joining rows
- Fixed unindent to properly handle collapsed rows
- Fixed AppleScript API to use non-dynamic colors
-
Bike 1.6 (88)
- Added .rtf text to pasteboard when you copy
- Added Edit > Copy As for specific pasteboard types
- Updated for macOS Ventura
- Changed to standard color well in editor settings
- Changed move commands to not move the focused row
- Changed search to only select match on Enter
- Changed search and text checking to start from front of selection
- Fixed incorrect scroll position when reopening a document
- Fixed crash with Replace All and in a few other cases
-
Bike 1.5 (87)
- Changed save panel options to be more flexible
- Changed scrolling to be a little more efficient
- Fixed crash when quickly opening new tabs with AppleScript
-
Bike 1.4.2 (85)
- Changed paste to create link to replace existing link text
- Fixed crash that could happen on Focus In
- Fixed Strikethrough formatting on macOS 11
-
Bike 1.4.1 (83)
- Fixed mouse over indication sticking
- Fixed case where formatting popover would not show
-
Bike 1.4 (82)
Bike now supports rich text!
You can bold, italic,
code, highlight, andstrikethrough. There’s innovation too. See how it works in this post + movie.- Added rich text
- Added link buttons
- Added typing affinity
- Added visible typing attributes
- Added invisibles to selected text
- Added keyboard focused formatting palette
- Added .rtf support when pasting into Bike
- Added .html support when copying from Bike
- Added menu items to change outline/text mode
- Changed block mode selection color
- Changed text mode duplicate to be row based
- Changed row indentation to char width increments
- Changed window tab titles to match focused row
- Changed Edit > Copy Link to include rich text link
- Removed underline from link text style
- Improved editing of right-to-left text
- Fixed some cases opening Bike links
- Fixed drawing on non-retina screens
- Fixed handling of null characters when saving
- Fixed scripting access to expand and collapse lists of rows
- Fixed Bike links not pasting into some applications
- Fixed a bunch of other crashes and small issues
-
Bike 1.3.1 (64)
- Fixed some cases where Bike failed to open .opml files
-
Bike 1.3 (61)
- Added Row > New Indented Row (⇧⌘Return)
- Added preference for default document type and extension
- Added exit outline mode using ⌥→/⌥←
- Added scripting access to row attributes
- Improved typing animations to finish faster when typing fast
- Improved text caret animations on undo/redo
- Changed to respect NSScrollAnimationEnabled user defaults setting
- Changed first click on an inactive window to keep selection
- Fixed extending selection by word/line when dragging mouse
- Fixed
---read from plain text to be treated normally - Fixed ⌥⇧↑ to properly extend selection
- Fixed collapsing leaf rows (no longer allowed)
-
Bike 1.2 (58)
- Added Row > Delete Rows (⇧⌘K)
- Added preference to disable typing animations
- Added support for alternative file extensions when saving
- Added list of keyboard shortcuts to welcome text
- Changed Collapse on a collapsed row to collapse containing row
- Changed open/save to preserve .bike and .opml head content
- Changed file reading to recover from some formatting errors
- Fixed folded rows incorrectly deleted when text editing
- Fixed empty lines discarded when reading plain text format
- Fixed AppleScript access to row’s
visibleproperty
-
Bike 1.1 (54)
Bike now detects .bike and .opml in plain text.
That means two things. You can copy .bike or .opml text from a text editor and paste it into Bike, and it will be read correctly. If Bike can’t read either of those formats, plain text is pasted.
You can also use other file extensions (.html for example) for your Bike content files. If Bike content can’t be read from the file, it opens as plain text.
- Added Font preference
- Added Restore window selection
- Added detecting .bike and .opml in plain text
- Fixed Delete to end of paragraph (⌃K)
- Fixed beeps as you type into the Find text field
- Fixed “unlicensed” button not fully hiding once licensed
- Fixed crash when pasting an image (still unsupported)
- Fixed edits to existing rows not saving in a reopened OPML file
-
Bike 1.0.1 (52)
- Fixed move word forward/backward keybindings
- Fixed initial titlebar color to match background color
- Fixed “Enabled Animations” checkbox initial state
- Fixed “Check Updates Automatically” checkbox initial state
- Fixed a timer bug; Bike now uses 0% CPU in background
-
Bike 1.0 (51)
Bike 1.0, made it!